Staff Directory

we change the way people farm

A diverse and dedicated team of full time staff along with a gang of summer students tackle the necessary day to day work.

FARMING SMARTER TEAM

Meet our fantastic crew!

Farming Smarter succeeds because our people bring knowledge, skills, and personality to all we do! A team of 10 full-time staff with diverse educations and backgrounds push the organization forward. They supervise and train the next generation as we hire 10-15 summer, practicum, and intern students each year. Seven of our staff members have an average of 10 years with us. We’re a tight knit group that enjoys working together, solving problems, and sharing laughs.

Executive Director

Ken Coles

Executive Director

Tel: 403-317-0757

Email: ken@farmingsmarter.com

Assistant Manager

Jamie Puchinger

Assistant Manager

Tel: 403-308-9344

Email: jamie@farmingsmarter.com

Research Scientist

Gurbir Dhillon

Research Scientist

Tel: 306-261-7184

Email: gurbir@farmingsmarter.com

Research Coordinator

Mike Gretzinger

Research Coodinator

Tel: 403-382-7923

Email: mike@farmingsmarter.com

Field Tested Manager

Lewis Baarda

Field Tested Manager

Tel: 403-308-8551

Email: lewis@farmingsmarter.com

Custom Research Lead

Trevor Deering

Custom Research Lead

Tel: 403-715-5558

Email: trevor@farmingsmarter.com

Communications Manager

Claudette Lacombe

Communications Manager

Tel: 403-359-4471

Email: claudette@farmingsmarter.com

Office Manager

Shelly Barclays

Office Manager

Tel: 403-892-3217

Email: shelly@farmingsmarter.com

Site Manager

Toby Mandel

Site Manager

Tel: 403-715-8950

Research Technician

Carlo Van Herk

Research Technician

Tel: 403-795-2667

Email: carlo@farmingsmarter.com