Events Icon

Events

View Events
Events Icon

Smart Partner Program

Learn More
Subscriber Login

Staff Directory

we change the way people farm

A diverse and dedicated team of full time staff along with a gang of summer students tackle the necessary day to day work.

FARMING SMARTER TEAM

Meet our fantastic crew!

Farming Smarter succeeds because our people bring knowledge, skills, and personality to all we do! A team of 10 full-time staff with diverse educations and backgrounds push the organization forward. They supervise and train the next generation as we hire 10-15 summer, practicum, and intern students each year. Seven of our staff members have an average of 10 years with us. We’re a tight knit group that enjoys working together, solving problems, and sharing laughs.

Farming Smarter Owner AJM Seeds

Ken Coles

Executive Director

Tel: 403-317-0757

Email: ken@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Agriculture Manager at BDO LLP

Jamie Puchinger

Assistant Manager

Tel: 403-308-9344

Email: jamie@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Producer Kolk Farms

Gurbir Dhillon

Research Scientist

Tel: 306-261-7184

Email: gurbir@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Owner AJM Seeds

Mike Gretzinger

Research Coodinator

Tel: 403-382-7923

Email: mike@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Agriculture Manager at BDO LLP

Lewis Baarda

Field Tested Manager

Tel: 403-308-8551

Email: lewis@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Producer Kolk Farms

Trevor Deering

Custom Research Lead

Tel: 403-715-5558

Email: trevor@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Producer Stamp Seeds

Claudette Lacombe

Communications Manager

Tel: 403-359-4471

Email: claudette@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Producer Holtman Farms Ltd.

Shelly Barclays

Office Manager

Tel: 403-892-3217

Email: shelly@farmingsmarter.com

Farming Smarter Producer Specialty Seeds

Toby Mandel

Site Manager

Tel: 403-715-8950

Farming Smarter Owner AJM Seeds

Carlo Van Herk

Research Technician

Tel: 403-795-2667

Email: carlo@farmingsmarter.com