Events Icon


View Events
Events Icon

Smart Partner Program

Learn More
Subscriber Login

Canadian Grain Commission Appointments


The Canadian Grain Commission got two new appointments by Marie-Claude Bibeau, Minister of Agriculture and Agri-Food. She appointed Doug Chorney as Chief Commissioner and Patty Rosher as Assistant Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission. 

“Now more than ever, it is important to have strong leadership in our agriculture sector to ensure Canadians continue to have access to high-quality food through this challenging time. I am confident that these two individuals will provide excellent leadership for our grain growers across the country and help the Canadian Grain Commission maintain a competitive and efficient grain sector,”  said Bibeau about the two newly appointed commissioners. 

Doug Chorney, an active player in the grain industry for 24 years, was appointed Assistant Chief Commissioner of the Canadian Grain Commission in 2017. He began his three-year term as Chief Commissioner in June 2020.

In Patty Rosher’s 25-year career in the agriculture sector, she has held various leadership and advisory positions, most recently as General Manager of the Keystone Agricultural Producers. The term of her appointment is four years, effective Feb.15 2021.

sorghum grass heads
Sorghum grain

In 2016, the Government of Canada implemented an appointment process that is transparent and merit-based, as they look for Canadians who reflect public sector values of respect for democracy, people, integrity, stewardship, and excellence.